Modem question...

For chat about everything, from the world of gadgets, to improving your home theatre setup.

Moderators: DreamensioN, Splash

User avatar
cGr
Intuition
Posts: 10110
Joined: Fri 19 Jul, 2002 9:08 am

Re: Modem question...

Post by cGr » Wed 14 Nov, 2012 3:06 pm

spite wrote:BUSY FAG - this needs a wall of text :(

Any chance for a 1 paragraph summary? :P

User avatar
spitex
GTiR wannabe
Posts: 10721
Joined: Sun 28 Apr, 2002 8:17 am
Drives: FPV F6
Location: Brisneyland
Contact:

Re: Modem question...

Post by spitex » Wed 14 Nov, 2012 3:23 pm

Some SP's use 20/1 and 24/1 profiles for ADSL on the DSLAMs to provision the services.

It's also interoperability between the DSLAM vendor and the chip vendor in your $3 modems. Some work better than others at speed/rate others are better at stability but are more modest with the trainup rate.

There's a lot of factors involved and above is the short answer :P

Post Reply