quality cat3 cable

For chat about everything, from the world of gadgets, to improving your home theatre setup.

Moderators: DreamensioN, Splash

Post Reply
User avatar
dan
argument inc
Posts: 6154
Joined: Wed 08 May, 2002 5:46 pm
Drives: German's mum........
Location: Brisbane

quality cat3 cable

Post by dan » Sun 20 Sep, 2015 11:25 pm

gents, i am pretty sure that the cat3 cable i use to connect my adsl2+ modem to the wall sucks donkey dick. where do i get a good one from? i checked on eBay and they all look shit. needs to be a few metres long and preferably have one of the old-school pin-ends on the end, not the plug-type end.
cheers in advance
dan
camo means mogg, and mogg means business

User avatar
cGr
Intuition
Posts: 10110
Joined: Fri 19 Jul, 2002 9:08 am

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by cGr » Mon 21 Sep, 2015 10:14 am

You mean one of these plugs? http://www.bunnings.com.au/jackson-modu ... g_p4360634

Bunnings/Jaycar will have them and cables.

If you ask me nicely, I can probably find a cable and plug for you in my box of shitty old electrical things which I've been meaning to throw out.

User avatar
dorift
I love lamp
Posts: 8251
Joined: Mon 24 Jun, 2002 8:21 pm
Drives: Toyota Hilux Diablo
Location: Not near you
Contact:

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by dorift » Mon 21 Sep, 2015 11:52 am

I'm confused
89 Corolla SX
90 Pulsar GTiR
95 Barina GSi
98 200sx
04 Forester XT
99 Hilux ute (woohoo!)

User avatar
dan
argument inc
Posts: 6154
Joined: Wed 08 May, 2002 5:46 pm
Drives: German's mum........
Location: Brisbane

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by dan » Mon 21 Sep, 2015 4:15 pm

yeah that's them cam. why didn't i think of jaycar. i have a cat3-to-jackson adaptor already, but if i could find a chunky cable that was male cat3 to male jackson then that'd be great.
camo means mogg, and mogg means business

User avatar
unwritten law
MILF Hunter!
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri 03 May, 2002 1:35 pm
Location: sideways... with the groceries in the boot
Contact:

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by unwritten law » Mon 21 Sep, 2015 4:34 pm

Hayman / jr turk / ideal electrical should have these as well
GRY32
GRYXXXII

.....

User avatar
cGr
Intuition
Posts: 10110
Joined: Fri 19 Jul, 2002 9:08 am

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by cGr » Mon 21 Sep, 2015 7:37 pm

'Chunky' cables make no difference, chances are that if it connects the cable is fine. If you're having issues with your interwebz I'd be looking at your router or provider.

User avatar
Splash
pants
Posts: 3765
Joined: Wed 04 Sep, 2002 8:51 pm
Drives: with eyes closed
Location: Gympie
Contact:

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by Splash » Mon 21 Sep, 2015 8:26 pm

There's potentially KM of copper between the exchange and the router, I highly doubt upgrading the last 2 or 3m is going to make any difference.
Image

Latest survey shows that 3 out of 4 people make up 75% of the world's population

User avatar
dan
argument inc
Posts: 6154
Joined: Wed 08 May, 2002 5:46 pm
Drives: German's mum........
Location: Brisbane

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by dan » Mon 21 Sep, 2015 8:33 pm

internet connects with current cable, but the cable is frayed. have already upgraded router, still having issues.
camo means mogg, and mogg means business

User avatar
spitex
GTiR wannabe
Posts: 10721
Joined: Sun 28 Apr, 2002 8:17 am
Drives: FPV F6
Location: Brisneyland
Contact:

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by spitex » Mon 21 Sep, 2015 11:01 pm

Exetel last time you mentioned it?

Copper can always degrade ..... get your ISP to fix it :P

User avatar
dan
argument inc
Posts: 6154
Joined: Wed 08 May, 2002 5:46 pm
Drives: German's mum........
Location: Brisbane

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by dan » Tue 22 Sep, 2015 9:25 am

yep still exetel, but not sure if i can blame them yet - the neighbors also have exetel and have no problems with it.
camo means mogg, and mogg means business

User avatar
spitex
GTiR wannabe
Posts: 10721
Joined: Sun 28 Apr, 2002 8:17 am
Drives: FPV F6
Location: Brisneyland
Contact:

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by spitex » Tue 22 Sep, 2015 9:40 am

copper - which exetel are responsible for with naked DSL.

If you had a PSTN service, Telstra/Exetel are jointly responsible. Talk to their Srilanka team and get it sorted ;)

User avatar
dan
argument inc
Posts: 6154
Joined: Wed 08 May, 2002 5:46 pm
Drives: German's mum........
Location: Brisbane

Re: quality cat3 cable

Post by dan » Tue 22 Sep, 2015 11:44 am

i don't have naked
pretty sure it is my frayed cable and not exetel - like i said, neighbors work fine. when my wifi goes down i log onto their network.
camo means mogg, and mogg means business

Post Reply