4 port hub/switch wanted

Chasing something in particular? Post in here. Just don't buy from rhomel... he's a very dodgy character

Moderator: German

Post Reply
User avatar
Eu-GenixX
5000RPM
Posts: 5978
Joined: Tue 30 Apr, 2002 8:37 pm
Drives: CJ Lancer VR
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

4 port hub/switch wanted

Post by Eu-GenixX » Thu 20 Nov, 2014 9:32 pm

Anyone got one they want to offload?

User avatar
cGr
Intuition
Posts: 10110
Joined: Fri 19 Jul, 2002 9:08 am

Re: 4 port hub/switch wanted

Post by cGr » Thu 20 Nov, 2014 9:41 pm

TP-Link 5 port fastethernet switch, $10: http://umart.com.au/pro/products_listne ... 2&sid=4948
TP-Link 8 port fastethernet switch, $11: http://umart.com.au/pro/products_listne ... sid=106655
TP-Link 5 port gig switch, $18: http://umart.com.au/pro/products_listne ... sid=191646
TP-Link 8 port gig switch, $24: http://umart.com.au/pro/products_listne ... sid=106650

I've got the 'top of the line' tp-link plastic 8 port gig switch, and it works fine.

User avatar
Eu-GenixX
5000RPM
Posts: 5978
Joined: Tue 30 Apr, 2002 8:37 pm
Drives: CJ Lancer VR
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re: 4 port hub/switch wanted

Post by Eu-GenixX » Thu 20 Nov, 2014 9:57 pm

I should have checked that first. Didn't realise how cheap they were. I need to buy a modem/router too. Will check msy. Cheers for the heads up.

User avatar
cGr
Intuition
Posts: 10110
Joined: Fri 19 Jul, 2002 9:08 am

Re: 4 port hub/switch wanted

Post by cGr » Thu 20 Nov, 2014 10:03 pm

I bought this for my parents, $36: http://umart.com.au/pro/products_listne ... sid=140714

It works fine, though wireless is a bit slow.

I'd buy this for $127: http://umart.com.au/pro/products_listne ... sid=107047

Or if you want the latest wireless AC (and are willing to spend), then buy a cheaper modem and a Linksys WRT1900AC/Netgear Nighthawk.

User avatar
Eu-GenixX
5000RPM
Posts: 5978
Joined: Tue 30 Apr, 2002 8:37 pm
Drives: CJ Lancer VR
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re: 4 port hub/switch wanted

Post by Eu-GenixX » Fri 19 Dec, 2014 11:04 am


User avatar
cGr
Intuition
Posts: 10110
Joined: Fri 19 Jul, 2002 9:08 am

Re: 4 port hub/switch wanted

Post by cGr » Fri 19 Dec, 2014 6:33 pm

That doesn't have a modem, just a router/switch/ap. I'm not a fan of TP-Link (took 3 back in a row), but spite loves them.

User avatar
Eu-GenixX
5000RPM
Posts: 5978
Joined: Tue 30 Apr, 2002 8:37 pm
Drives: CJ Lancer VR
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re: 4 port hub/switch wanted

Post by Eu-GenixX » Fri 19 Dec, 2014 8:56 pm

I have a lot of TP-Link stuff now. My PoE adapters are TP-Link I now have two 8 port switches and the above router.

Didn't need a modem I found out, just a WAN port to go from the NTD for the fibre link.

It all works a treat.

Cheers for the feedback.

Post Reply